Trent Voices Literary Series Part 3: Linwood Barclay

Linwood Barclay

Linwood Barclay

After a short hiatus, we are extremely excited to stream another episode of our #TrentVoices Literary Series. The impressive alumni lineup, which includes a who’s who of Canadian authors, is perfect listening for the chilly days of autumn. Pull Up a chair, a cozy blanket, and a comforting beverage.

We hope that you’re as excited as we are.

This week:

From Linwood Barclay is the #1 internationally bestselling author of thirteen novels, including Trust Your Eyes, A Tap on the Window, No Time for Goodbye and that novel's follow-up, No Safe House. Last summer, his thriller Broken Promise, the first of three linked novels about his fictional upstate New York town Promise Falls, was released. Book two, Far From True was released earlier this year. The finale, The Twenty-Three, was released this fall.

Our discussion hits on Linwood's early experiences with Margaret Laurence, the difficulty of writing humour, getting shout-outs from Stephen King, the (not-so) secret Peterborough origins of his crime-story setting of Promise Falls, and the huge achievement of his new Promise Falls Trilogy.

Be sure to check out earlier interviews with Yann Martel '81 and Leah McLaren '95, as well as our full archive of podcast episodes on our podcast page.

Comments are closed.